Summer Fundraising + A Call to Arms

Breaking News: Indiegogo Campaign is Live! Mushrooms, T-Shirts, Mushroom Garden Beds, and tons of other sweet perks!  Check it out here!

We’re at a tipping point for both our business and for the campaign to start a “guerrilla mycology” revolution (kind of a cross between guerrilla gardening and Radical Mycology…) in West Michigan. But in order to push us over the edge, and make this a “thing” around these parts, we need your help.

We’re aiming to raise $20,000 in capital over the next 60 days.

This capital infusion will allow us to:

  • Offer new mushroom varieties, including Lion’s Mane, Shiitake, Pink Oyster, King Oyster, and more
  • Grow enough mushrooms to be at the Farmer’s Markets several times a week
  • Start the research into local mycoremediative species (mycoremediation: A method of pollution cleanup where mushroom mycelium eats toxins and breaks them down)
  • Offer more workshops and training on Mushroom Gardening, Cooking w/ Mushrooms, and more

We’ll be running both Start Garden and Indiegogo campaigns, a Teespring drive, additional workshops, and seeking private investment (interested in becoming a part of this business? Email us). Help us bring more mushrooms to West Michigan! Join the fight! Overgrow the traditional corporate food system! Here’s what you can do right now:

  • Endorse us on Start Garden (campaign ends 6/11/2014)
  • Claim one of our exclusive perks on Indiegogo (campaign runs 6/12/2014 – 7/12/2014)
  • Check out our Urban Mushroom T-Shirts on Teespring! (URL TBA Soon!)
  • Like us on Facebook over to the right. Or just click here. —>
  • Sign up for email updates right here!

What Have We Been Up To?

At the end of January, 2014, the Urban Mushroom was barely a gleam in our eyes. We had done some heavy experimentation with commercial mushroom cultivation. Yet we were still only producing about 10 lbs a month – barely enough to keep our first customer (Ryan from CVLT Pizza) well stocked with local fungus. We had given one workshop for friends and acquaintances, and the phrase “Guerrilla Mycology” had barely begun to percolate in Trever‘s subconscious. A few short months later, as we roll into another gorgeous Michigan summer, the mycelial revolution is about to explode. Business-wise, we’ve moved into an 1800 sq ft. facility, and we’re steadily producing between 300-400 lbs of mushrooms a month. We recently put on a weekend-long workshop to start a new batch of amateur mycologists – foot soldiers in our mycological revolution. Our mushrooms are in nearly 10 restaurants around the area on a weekly basis. And we’re poised to start dipping our toes into local mycoremediation efforts as well as implementing the “urban fungal wildcrafting” that we were dreaming about all winter. However, as quickly as we’ve grown, it’s not quickly enough. We’re currently selling everything that we have BEFORE IT’S EVEN HARVESTED!  In order to scale up while the weather is warm and the farmer’s markets are in full swing, we need to GROW! So don’t miss out on becoming a part of this revolution! Again, here’s what you can do to advance the cause!

  • Endorse us on Start Garden (campaign ends 6/11/2014)
  • Claim one of our exclusive perks on Indiegogo (campaign runs 6/12/2014 – 7/12/2014)
  • Like us on Facebook over to the right. Or here! —>
  • Sign up for email updates below!